Archive for Seat Belt Ticket

Click It or Ticket It Seat Belt Campaign

Whether you do it or not when you get into the car, studies have shown that wearing your seatbelt can increase your chances of surviving a car crash. Especially when it comes to children who need booster seats or car seats while the vehicle is in motion. But understanding the Click It or Ticket law in California, and understanding its importance, may just make you more aware of driving off with your seat belt on.  Wearing your seat belt will keep you from getting  a seat belt ticket.

In the state of California, you can receive a seat belt ticket strictly for not wearing one, or for not properly buckling in any children in the vehicle under the age of 16. The fines for not wearing a seat belt in the state of California will run you almost $90 for the first offense, and over $200 for the second. If you are pulled over and you have children under the age of 16 that are not properly secured with a safety belt, you will be fined almost $350 for the first offense and over $800 for your second. The state of California strictly encourages everyone in a moving vehicle to be wearing a seatbelt, not just to avoid receiving a seat belt ticket and fine, but for the safety for everyone on the road.

The Click It or Ticket campaign has proven to be an effective campaign used nationally to create a better awareness of seat belt use. The driver of the moving vehicle is responsible for the seat belt use of everyone in their car, so it is important to know that you could be fined for your passengers not wearing THEIR seat belts while the car is in motion. So it is very important that everyone is wearing their seat belt, or their failure to comply will be your responsibility when you receive a ticket for everyone in the car.

California’s Mandatory Seat Belt Law involves any passenger vehicle, truck tractor, motor truck or farm labor vehicle. The law, however, buy propecia online does not apply to motorcycles. There are specific rules for limo drivers and taxicabs in regards to the security of their passengers, and can be further investigated under California’s Mandatory Seat Belt Law, Section 27315.

Whether you like them or not, seat belts are there for your own personal safety. If you’re not a fan of wearing it, you may not only be facing a hefty fine from a police

Seat Belt

officer, but you can also lose your life due to failure to comply with California’s Seat Belt Law. If you have a child that needs to use a car seat or booster seat but you are unable to afford one (they can be pricey!), you can contact the California county health department to obtain an infant car seat or booster seat for your child if you fall within the low-income range. Even so, there is no excuse not to have your child–and yourself–secured with a seat belt while your car is moving. Buckling up is simply good common sense.  If not, you can fight and beat that seat belt ticket!

Ronald Cupp PhD

Your Advocate

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Comments (3)
Online Traffic School, Defensive Driving, Traffic Safety, and Driver Improvement