Mar
24

Understanding California Laws Regarding Cell Phone Use While Driving

By Ronald Cupp PHD

It happens to the best of us. We’re driving our car with a friend in the passenger seat who is talking to another friend on their cell phone that has to talk to you quickly about something. You take the cell phone, start having a conversation, and before you know it, you’re being pulled over for using a handheld cell phone. Oops.

Talking on your cell while driving is a no no

Don’t worry. Even though the state of California has had a ban on using a handheld cell phone while driving since the middle of 2008, you may still have some options when it comes to fighting and beating a cell phone ticket in California courts.

But first, it’s important to understand the laws California has in place regarding cell phone usage while driving. There are, in fact, a few exceptions to the law, but these are only for when the phone is being used for certain circumstances, such as if you are making an emergency phone call, using an emergency vehicle, or are operating a vehicle on private property. It is highly encouraged that if you need to talk on the phone while driving, you use a push-to-talk device or a push-to-talk feature that may be on your cell phone. Another way to have a conversation while driving is by using a hands-free cell phone device, using Bluetooth technology for a wireless experience, or just waiting until you have a chance to pull over or stop.

A cell phone ticket in the state of California carries a hefty price tag. The typical fine for a first offense cell phone use in the state of California will run you around $80. A second offense can cost almost $200. Either way, whether it’s a first offense or a second offense, the violation WILL be reported on your finasteride propecia driving record. This can affect your insurance rates, and can cause a suspension of your driver’s license if you receive too many “points” on your driving record in the state of California. So although the cell phone ban may seem a little silly to you, it won’t be so funny when you can no longer drive your car or your insurance rates skyrocket due to your violations.

There are numerous states other than California that support the handheld cell phone ban. Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, Oregon and Washington are all supporters of the cell phone ban, and in any of these states, you can be pulled over for using your cell phone and ticketed. Some states, like Utah, will pull you over if you are using a cell phone AND committing another form of a moving violation, but cannot pull you over just for cell phone use. Many states do not have handheld cell phone laws that can result in a ticket from a police officer, but it is typically a good idea to stay off the road while talking on your cell phone, regardless of the state in which you reside.

By knowing the handheld cell phone laws in effect in California, you can better understand how to avoid a cell phone ticket, and if you do receive one, the grounds in which you can have it dismissed. Fight and beat your cell phone ticket.

Ronald Cupp PhD

Your Advocate

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Comments

  1. Paz Prevatt says:

    you really inspire me to make more of my own work. your creative self is contagious. many thanks

  2. Mary says:

    Hello there, just stopped by doing some research for a cell phone to home phone post. Lots of information out there. Looking for something else, but cool site. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

Security Code:

Online Traffic School, Defensive Driving, Traffic Safety, and Driver Improvement